Centre Co-Directors


 Scientia Professor J. Justin Gooding FAA FTSE
 Editor-in-Chief, ACS Sensors
 ARC Australian Laureate Fellow
 School of Chemistry, UNSW Sydney

Scientia Professor Justin Gooding is currently an ARC Australian Laureate Fellow, the co-director of the Australian Centre for NanoMedicine and the co-director of the New South Wales Smart Sensing Network. He is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science and the International Society of Electrochemistry, and is  also the editor-in-chief of the journal ACS Sensors. He has won many awards including a 2004 NSW Young Tall  Poppy award, the 2009 Eureka Prize for Scientific Research, the 2013 NSW Science and Engineering Award for Emerging Research, the 2016 Faraday Medal of the Royal Society of Chemistry and the 2016 Biosensors and Bioelectronics Award. He leads a research team of over 40 researchers interested in sensors for medical diagnostics, nanomedicine, 3D printing  of cells for biomedical research and biomaterials.



 Professor Maria Kavallaris FAHMS AM
 Head, Tumour Biology & Targeting Program
 Children's Cancer Institute

Professor Maria Kavallaris, Founding Director, Australian Centre for NanoMedicine, UNSW, and Program Head, Children’s Cancer Institute Australia. She holds a prestigious NHMRC Principal  Research Fellowship and is an internationally recognized leader in cancer biology, therapeutics and  cancer nanomedicine. Her research has led to clinical collaborations and industry linkages that is  maximising translation of her research. She is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences. Professor Kavallaris has received numerous national and international awards and prizes including an Australian Museum Eureka Award, AIPS Young Tall Poppy Award, 2015 AFR/Westpac 100 Women of Influence Award, recognized in the 2015 Knowledge 100 Australian Innovators and the 2017 Premier’s Science and Engineering Award for Leadership in Innovation in NSW.



 Professor Cyrille Boyer PhD
 School of Chemical Engineering, UNSW Sydney

Professor Cyrille Boyer is the Co-Director of Australian Centre for NanoMedicine. He received many awards including the 2012 SCOPUS Young  Researcher of the Year Award, the 2015 Prime Minister's Science Prize, the 2016 LeFevre Memorial Prize, ARC-APD and ARC-Future Fellowship in 2010 and 2012 respectively, and was nominated as one of the inaugural Knowledge Nation 100 in 2015. Cyrille’s research has gained international recognition, winning the prestigious ACS Biomacromolecules/ Macromolecules Award and Journal of Polymer Science Innovation Award in 2016. Cyrille's research interests mainly cover the use of photoredox catalysts to perform living radical polymerization and functional polymers for therapeutic applications (for example, polymers with anti-microbial properties). He holds 6 international patents and has published over 200 research articles including 24 highly cited papers according to ESI Web of Science.